What Did You Do To Your Hair?????

15 Feb



A few weeks ago I got this new style and at first I was on the fence about it. I thought it looked a little different so I wasn’t sure if I liked it. After I took  pictures of myself I decided it was a keeper. I liked it so much that I changed my profile picture on facebook. Not even ten minutes after I posted it one on my  friends posted on my wall, WHAT DID YOU DO TO YOUR HAIR? Offensive right? Well they didn’t exactly put the question in all caps, but that is the way I took it. It took *be back a few years when I first stopped getting perms.

I had a perm for three *years and the promise of hair growth and long hair is what convinced me to get it. Besides I was tired of getting burnt on my neck and forehead and anywhere in between. A perm was the answer to my prayers. Finally, my hair would be able to blow in the wind and I could put my fingers through it, but actually the opposite happened. I mean I was able to put my *finger through it, but there was no hair blowing in the wind. There was no growth. It actually caused my hair to be damaged where it became thin and shorter. When I decided to stop getting perms I didn’t want to cut my hair so I wore braids to let it grow out. After about a year the perm was out and I had enough length to put it in a pony tail. This in when I got some variation of “what are you doing to your hair”, “when are you going to get your hair done?” And by done that meant when are you getting a perm. This is the reason I am starting a blog. For those of you who are at that stage of What Are You Doing to Your Hair. That should have been the name of my blog. Because of time constraints I must leave, but I will continue this discussion later.

*me, *fingers

2 Responses to “What Did You Do To Your Hair?????”

  1. Sandee February 26, 2011 at 8:48 PM #

    Hey, Jahmella!
    Thanks for this entry. I’m transitioning to natural hair (from relaxed hair), and I feel like I often get this reaction to my hair (I haven’t had a relaxer in 4 months). I am glad to see (at least on the Internet) that the understanding of/appreciation for natural hair is growing, but there is still a lot of the “everyone should have straight hair” mentality around, especially here in the South.
    I’m glad to see you’re blogging about this as it’s an important topic!
    Cousin Sandee

    • Afro February 26, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

      Hey Cousin!!!!!

      You are so welcome. I understand that it can be tough, that’s what I’m here for. I have noticed that the dynamics are different, in the North you still get negative comments, but I know in the South it is like that definitely. Be encouraged and know that whatever you want to do to you hair, no matter what they say, people will get use to it. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

