Commitment Phobia

9 Mar

Photo from Essence online magazine

“I want to start locs, but  locs are permanent and I like to do different hairstyles.”

At first the commitment argument seemed like a legitimate excuse.  If you make the decision to loc your hair the only way to get rid of them is to cut them or take them out ( I would prefer to cut them). If your locs have grown all the way down to your buttocks and you decide you want an afro, then you will have to cut them. In the same way if you have a perm and you don’t want an afro, you would have to do the same thing–chop it! Of course with a perm you can grow it out, but it is healthier for you hair to

cut the perm off. Therefore both are “permanent” hairstyles.The other argument is “I like to do different hairstyles.” Locs have lots of different hairstyles you can do, like with a perm, you can curl them, pin them up, and twist or braid them. The funny part about the argument as a whole (permanent and different hairstyles) is  that when “going natural” or getting locs, you have to think extensively about it. You have to second guess yourself and ask, “Is this really for me?” On the other hand, when getting a perm, you would be the first in line to get your “kitchen” straight. The point is this, not wanting to loc because it is a permanent style is a lame excuse. I think what you really want to say is I don’t want to cut my hair. Wanting to hold on to your length (for some there is no length to hold on to) is a valid reason. Another reason could be because you are in love with your permed hair, perfectly fine.  However,  The argument of commitment phobia is not sufficient– you might as well admit to yourself that you don’t want locs. It’s ok, no one is going to shoot you, I promise, well I can’t control what  others actions.

Photo from Shatterproof Glass Dolls

You must take time before you loc your hair, but it is the same as getting a perm. Perms are more culturally acceptable–I can go as far to say that it is a requirement. So getting a perm is easy because your socialized to believe that your hair is unacceptable. Of course I know this doesn’t apply to all woman. My goal is not to convince everyone to go natural or loc their hair, my goal is to expose a way of thinking. When you have or someone you know have used the excuse “I don’t want to loc because it is permanent”, remember it’s all about perception. You can easily get a perm, but getting locs is something you have to think about? Both hairstyles are things to think about because they are both permanent. For both loced and permed hair, if you wanted something different you would have to make drastic changes.

Tuesday’s Tip

Take the time to think about whether or not you want locs, but don’t make up excuses.
5 Responses to “Commitment Phobia”

  1. Cloud PBN September 9, 2014 at 3:11 AM #

    Hey! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through
    your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the fantastic work!

  2. Anonymous April 10, 2012 at 3:56 PM #

    I am transitioning to natural and have also decided to loc my hair. However, I am torn between sisterlocks and the traditional. I am 42 and have had an issue with gray hair since my 30’s. My gray only appears near my edges and scalp so I have to color my hair regularly. I’ve noticed that sisterlocking seems to show more scalp and appear not as full. Is that typical? Can you shed some light?

  3. KandidBlue November 15, 2011 at 5:15 PM #

    Just a FYI: Locs are not permanent. They do not have to be cut off. Locs can be combed down/taken down. The process takes about three weeks and allows the person to keep a lot of his/her hair without chopping it off or shaving it. I am a loc wearer and I tried the loc take down technique on one of my own locs to see if it truly can be done – it can. By the way I am still loc’d there are too many style options I haven’t tried yet. P.S. Great read! Been loc’d since 1999.

    • Astria March 8, 2012 at 11:25 AM #

      thanks for the post, i was wondering if locs were permanent. i am transitioning from permed to natural and I have decided to do locs. I was concerned, just in case the locs were to much up-keep (which i doubt) but i was curious… thanks again : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. insert Witty Title Here « Sassy Steph B's Blog - May 20, 2011

    […] Commitment Phobia (afrohaircentrik.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

