Here Comes The Bride!

31 Mar

To my readers (whoever you are), I have been gone for a minute and I missed three weeks of Tuesday Tips. I have a lot of unrelated things to write about that connect only  because they happened during the same time period. I was on spring break last week and I confess I had a lot of homework  and got 0% done– until the last-minute. I was in Dallas, Texas  and my sister’s wedding just happened to be the same week. School or no school I was going  at the wedding. I did get a few things accomplished like visiting a plantation museum for class and helping my sister with wedding preparations.

For my class, Women on the Plantation, I had to visit a plantation house and connect that to the women who lived there. Since I knew I was going to Dallas for my spring break, I wanted to go to a plantation in Dallas, but it was really hard  to find one. I ended up going to Dallas Heritage Village that has different houses from 1840-1910. I went with my dad, so we got to spend some quality time. The village was  neat,  I just wish there was a tour guide. Regardless, I would recommend it or if you can’t get to Dallas at least visit a historic plantation in your area.

My other accomplishment last week was helping  my sister with her wedding. The wedding was Saturday, March 26  . I didn’t do much, but I did help put the seat covers on and tie the sashes to the chairs. I also was a host, so I got to seat people doing the reception and hand out programs. The wedding was really nice and I had fun! (CONGRATS SIS and JERRY!!). You remember that back in the day candy, like fun sticks or candy cigarettes– well, they had an old school candy table. There was also a flip book booth, where you can take a series of pictures and when you turn the pictures quickly they are in motion, that was my favorite part. The other part I liked about the wedding were the bright red roses jumping out of the vases on each table with a crystal wrapped around them. Here is a link to their engagement pictures; the photographer’s name is Kechi.

Since, this is a hair blog, I should talk about hair right? Well, I have a new challenge for myself, which I stole from the Julie/Julia Project. Julie Powell  challenged herself to cook all the meals in Julia Child’s cook book in a year.   I have a folder saved on my computer full of hairstyles I will try every other week. Most of them I will do myself, but the first one my sister Tottiana did  for the wedding. What do you think? It’s pretty close to the hairstyle right?

I’m going to go  on a detour right now. I wanted to recommend Franchesca’s Blog, a fellow locee. I came across her YouTube video tutorials a while ago. She gives step by step instructions for different loced hairstyles. She is very creative and I will be using some of  her ideas for my challenge. There is a lot more I can say about my Spring break, but I’m trying to make this short, I do have another paper to write tonight. Anyway, I am looking forward to this new challenge– kind of. Hope you like what’s coming.

6 Responses to “Here Comes The Bride!”

  1. Shoshana March 31, 2011 at 1:00 PM #

    So elegant! And yes, that’s pretty close. I’m looking forward to seeing the results of this hairstyle project– experimenting with hairstyles is something I like doing myself.

  2. Kenezia March 31, 2011 at 3:36 AM #

    Oh, YES the hair is FAB… It’s extremely close!!!

  3. Kenezia March 31, 2011 at 3:35 AM #

    Great Blog!!! I absolutely Enjoyed reading it!!! 🙂

    • Afro March 31, 2011 at 3:37 AM #

      Thank You cousin!

  4. Jaime March 31, 2011 at 3:33 AM #

    I love you Jahmella! your hair is too fly!

    • Afro March 31, 2011 at 3:39 AM #

      Thanks Jaime, I didn’t know you had you own blog, definitely will check it out.

Leave a Reply

