New Beginnings and Fresh Starts

7 Apr


Good Morning Lovelies!

I know it is not morning, but morning is the best part of the day because you have a fresh start.  I don’t know about you, but having a fresh start means I have another chance to organize the random papers that are sitting on my desk, or  finally write the rough draft of my close reading of King Lear that is due next week.

Today is the day, I still have some time. So I’m here to tell you to stop wasting your precious leisure time surfing the web; it’s tragic that Amanda Bynes’s dog died, and the conversation between the baby twins is really cute, but I know you could be doing something more productive now. The only subject that is worth researching is the possible government shut down.  I hope the lawmakers can reach a decision soon.

Going back to the topic of fresh starts– and hair for that matter; when people start their locs, they sometimes refer to the process as their “hair journey”. In most hair journey’s people mention different stages, one of those being  the “budding stage” also known  as the ugly stage of locs. In the budding stage is where you get asked “what did you do to your hair.” The hair has a mind of its own and not only does it looked matted together, it also sticks up in all directions.

During that time I did a lot of reading.  Nice Dreads by Lonnice Brittenum Bonner was my hair bible and  has lost of good insights for loced hair care. Any time I needed answers, I would try to find it  in the book. Another good source for information about loced and natural hair is Nappurality, a website dedicated to informing African-American woman on hair care. These are the main places I use to go to find comfort and information.

Note to my wonderful readers: I have to apologize because lately I haven’t been posting Tuesday Tips. I have no excuse. No good excuse any way. So I promise I will post one next week. and if not, you have permission to punch me in the face the next time you see me.

Leave a Reply

