BE-A-YOUTIFUL

22 Apr

For the past couple of weeks my morning routine looks like this; at 4:30am I am in my bed aware that it is morning and I have to get up soon, I tell myself “I don’t have to get up now, I’ll wait until my alarm goes off”. So I go back to sleep. My alarm goes off at 6:30 am I jump out of bed, take a quick shower, gather all my things for the day, get dressed, all by 7:00. By the time I leave the house I’m literally running to the bus stop getting there as it is pulling up. I always forget at least one thing and I never have breakfast and sometimes lunch. Good thing I don’t have to do my hair everyday, because I would be in trouble.

If I had to do my hair every morning with my current morning routine, I think I would have a pony-tail most days or I would just comb it and wrap a scarf around it. Regardless, I think it should be illegal for anyone to come out the house with the Dr. Miracle emergency hair. There is not an excuse for you to come out the house with you hair looking like that. Ok, I’m finish with criticizing because I understand that some people consider locs, braids, and twist as  hair not “done”. Anyway, I think every woman should get “fancy”  at least once in her life– nails done, hair done, everything did, go head!

I have learned in my life that the more attention I pay to myself, the better I feel about myself. In no way should your self-esteem be connected to the way you look on the outside because I think most people have bad days sometimes, unless you look like Halle Berry. It’s just that when I take the time to pamper myself, I feel–beautiful! And this is coming from a girl who use to hate girly things like dresses and make-up, I was a late bloomer.  It is important for your self-esteem to keep up with your appearance. Not because “fancy” hair and nails makes you, but because you are worth it. Be smart about it though, I’m not advocating spending all your money just to look beautiful, however I am suggesting to take time out for yourself. Shavon Donnell wrote an article in Coco and Creme called “Take Your Time, Beautiful”, which gives some tips on putting yourself first.

I’m attracted to the word beautiful. I came up with this little saying “be a youtiful” or in order words be full of you. What this mean is to know how to take care of your emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being.  This has no connection to the definition of beautiful, but a person who takes time for themselves can create a beautiful experience .

By the way I just remembered, my name, Jahmella (I guess I never really mentioned it) does mean beautiful, maybe that’s why I like the word so much.

One Response to “BE-A-YOUTIFUL”

  1. skturpie April 28, 2011 at 1:31 AM #

    “Be a youtiful.” I like that! And yeah, it’s really hard to have good-looking hair by accident, and a lot of faux-accident hairdos are even worse. My brother tried this thing once in high school with straightening and spraying and sticking it in every direction and it looked horrible. I’ve come to the conclusion that braids and hairsticks are my hair’s best friends.

Leave a Reply

