Tip of the Week

7 May

Starting Locs

I know what you’re going to say, I’m fired. It’s Saturday and I haven’t posted anything all week. What is the point of a Tuesday  Tip, if I’m not going to post it on Tuesday! Again, like I have said all the other Tuesday’s I didn’t post, I hope you forgive me. Since I didn’t post a tip, I will post it today. I will briefly go over the ways to start locs.

Via PerfectLocks

There are four different ways to start locs  combed coils, two-strand twist, braids, and free-form. In my opinion the best options are comb coils and two-strand twist. Combed-coils  are usually for those with shorter hair and two-strand twist for longer hair. Free-form locs gets it’s name because  a comb isn’t put to your head and locs develop on their own. Usually, this causes people’s locs to be different sizes.  This is the method used mostly by Rastafarians.

Via Ericastrawberrykane

One common misconception about starting locs is that you can not wash your hair because it will prevent them from locing. As Dreadlocks.com  puts it in their facts and rumors section  “if you do not wash your hair it will stink.” They also suggest that the residue from certain shampoo’s is the cause of slowing down the locing process and suggest using residue-free shampoos instead.

Another product you should absolutely stay away from, whether you are staring locs or already have them,  is BeesWax. From my experience, commercial products for loced hair usually contain BeesWax, not all but some. BeesWax is hard to wash out, plus it attracts lint and dirt. No one should use BeesWax in their hair, naturals and perms alike.

Any more tips? If you have any more questions or comments about starting locs or hair in general, post it in the comments section and I will gladly respond.

Tip

When starting locs (or any dramatic hair change) make sure you find the way that will work best for you and do adequate research.

2 Responses to “Tip of the Week”

  1. Samara May 10, 2011 at 5:47 AM #

    I guess I’ll forgive you for posting late…it’s been a rough week before finals week. Anyhow, thanks for clearing up the dreadlocks misconception; I always thought they were pretty gross because people didn’t usually wash them, but I guess I was wrong! I like combed coils the best too.

    • Afro May 10, 2011 at 1:57 PM #

      Thanks for understanding Samara.

Leave a Reply

